Ways to Make Your Sunday Inserts (As Good As) Free in Store

I needed to grab another Sunday newspaper to get two of each insert this week, so of course I headed down to Walgreens to pick one up. But it wouldn’t be a Walgreens trip without some fun Register Rewards deal!

(From KATU.com)

I had planned ahead on a Colgate toothpaste deal by printing a limited time coupon. And I always like to grab cheap makeup when I can, so luckily I still had a couple Rimmel coupons on me. I was already planning on paying $2.00 for the newspaper, so when I came home paying $2.19 for newspaper, toothpaste, and nail polish, I felt great!

Buying newspapers is what I consider “the cost of doing business” for couponers. One of my favorite ways to save, and one of the easiest ways to start immediately using coupons is to pair a Register Reward or Rewards Points deal at Walgreens with your Sunday newspaper purchase to earn free or low cost items. Check out my transactions below for what I did to make sure I paid around the same amount I already planned to pay, but came home with so much more.

Transaction #1

  • (1) Colgate Total toothpaste (reg $3.89, sale $3.00)
    • Buy 1 Colgate toothpaste, Receive $2.50 Register Reward
    • Use (1) $1.00/1 Colgate printable MC (no longer available)
  • Pay $2.00, Receive $2.50 Register Reward
  • Final price for Colgate = $0.50 money maker!

New mint polish!

Transaction #2

  • (1) Oregonian Sunday Newspaper (reg $2.00)
    • Use (1) $2.50 Register Reward
  • (1) Rimmel 60 second nail polish (reg $1.69)
    • Use $1.00/1 Rimmel Eye, Nail product MC
  • Pay $0.19
  • Final price for Oregonian = $2.00
  • Final price for Rimmel = $0.69

The final price of the newspaper stays the same, but I came home with more oral care for my stockpile as well as a fun new mint-colored nail polish for only $0.19 more. Nice way to make your “cost of doing business” stretch a little further.

Talk to me!

